how was cyprus founded?

Cyprus, officially called the Republic of Cyprus, is an island nation in the eastern Mediterranean Sea. It is the third largest and most populous island in the Mediterranean, and lies south of Turkey; west of Syria; northwest of Lebanon, Israel and the Gaza Strip; north of Egypt; and southeast of Greece. The rugged island of Cyprus resembles a saucepan, with the handle extending northeast from the main part. Cyprus lies about 40 miles (65 km) south of Turkey, 60 miles (100 km) west of Syria and 480 miles (770 km) southeast of mainland Greece.

The Turkish Cypriot state made a unilateral declaration of independence in 1983 and adopted the name Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. Today, Cyprus is a popular tourist destination for European visitors, favoured by honeymooners (as befits the legendary home of Aphrodite, the ancient Greek goddess of love), birdwatchers attracted by the island's diversity of migratory species and other holidaymakers. Cyprus, "a golden green leaf cast into the sea and a land of "wild climate and volcanoes", in the words of Greek Cypriot poet Leonidas Malenis, comprises high mountains, fertile valleys and wide beaches. In 1960, Cyprus became independent from Britain (it had been a crown colony since 192) as the Republic of Cyprus.

Settled for more than 10 millennia, Cyprus lies at a cultural, linguistic and historical crossroads between Europe and Asia. Cyprus, in Greek Kípros, in Turkish Kıbrıs, is an island in the eastern Mediterranean known since ancient times for its mineral wealth, its superb wines and produce, and its natural beauty.

Latisha Busler
Latisha Busler

Lifelong beer ninja. Subtly charming twitter nerd. Subtly charming tv junkie. Incurable web ninja. Evil coffee junkie.